SUNSET FIRE CEREMONY: HONORING FULL MOON, VENUS’ ZENITH AND ORTHODOX NEW YEAR’S EVE

SUNSET FIRE CEREMONY: HONORING FULL MOON, VENUS’ ZENITH AND ORTHODOX NEW YEAR’S EVE

It was all about GRATITUDE

This evening sunset I did a fire ceremony to honor the full moon, the zenith of planet Venus, and the Serbian (Orthodox) New Year’s Eve. It was a ceremony of gratitude – gratitude for two weeks of badly needed dry weather, gratitude for the new friends the spirit has brought into my life this week, gratitude for turning the unlucky Friday the 13th into a lucky day. Until MECO entered the scene… 🙂

VIDEO: SUNSET FIRE CEREMONY: HONORING FULL MOON, VENUS’ ZENITH AND ORTHODOX NEW YEAR’S EVE – a film by Bob Altzar Djurdjevic – Jan 13, 2017

Direct Youtube link: https://youtu.be/8DfPCmLIzRE

 * * *

PHOTO ALBUM FROM THE FIRE CEREMONY

Click on PHOTO ALBUM AT YINYANGBOB for the photo album

 * * *

Unlucky Friday the 13th did rear its ugly head in the end

LONG POWER OUTAGE

working-by-candlelight

Eating and working by candlelight – 21st century! Welcome to Maui Electric Company “service”

Tonight, I had my dinner by candlelight.
I know, it sounds romantic. It was not. First, because I am alone. Second, because I was forced to light a candle by a long power outage.
I had just finished a nice sunset fire ceremony honoring the full moon, the zenith of planet Venus, and the Serbian (Orthodox) New Year’s Eve. It was a ceremony of gratitude – gratitude for two weeks of badly needed dry weather, gratitude for the new friends the spirit has brought into my life this week, gratitude for turning the unlucky Friday the 13th into a lucky day,
Until it became unlucky. When I cam back up to the house, I recorded a new version of AMAZING GRACE, a tune I also played on my flute during the fire ceremony. And then I was sat down to edit the video and write the story about how AMAZING GRACE MUSIC cause a lot of blue smoke to rise from fire, the power went out.
And it is still out – over 2 hours and counting. So I am writing this also by… I was tempted to say by candlelight, but actually it is by a battery-powered flashlight.
So Friday the 13th did rear its ugly head in the end. Good thing I said in my original post about canceling the Unlucky Friday that the day is till not over and that I had better not gloat. Sure enough…
By the way, there is no wind. There is no rain. There is no high surf. Nor volcanic explosion. No earthquake, either. Just MECO! (Maui Electric – our public utility).
What makes this outage even more abominable is that our solar system produces more electricity than we consume. Unlike other utilities, like with my Arizona solar system, MECO pays me nothing! They just take my CLEAN excess electricity, mix it with their dirty (coal and diesel powered) energy, and resell it at retail rates to their other customers. And to top it off – adding insult to injury – they force me to suffer from their power failures like everybody else.
MECO have the system figured out… to suit themselves and skin their customers. This is not new news. But this long and completely unnecessary power outage reminded me of it.
PS: The power came back right now – more than 2 hours after it had gone out. Want to know what I was doing at that moment? Meditating. Lying on the floor with my eyes closed in total darkness. I remembered that way back, when I was in Peru being taught by the Apus (mountain spirits or angels if you like) during my first ordination as a shaman, that they said that’s what we should do once in a while in order to access them. Lie still in total darkness for a long time.
Wonder if MECO have some connection to the Andean mountain spirits? 🙂

REKINDLING SACRED FIRE

About half an hour or so into a 2.5 hour power outage last night, I went back down to the gulch. By then, the fire was almost out. I piled up the remaining logs on top of each other and started blowing to rekindle the fire. It worked. A new fire emerged after a couple of minutes.
The moon had not yet risen so everything was pitch dark around me. I then spent the next 15-20 minutes in meditation and prayer sitting on the Haleakala “kulla” (big rock inside the sacred place) and facing the fire.
Later, I surmised that the spirits must have turned off the electricity for over 2 hours to make me do just that – and contemplate what life without modern technology would be like. I learned two things…
1. It was very peaceful. 2. But after 2 hours of darkness, I could not wait for the lights to come on so I can carry on my 21st century work.
Guess I still have ways to go before I reach the state of Nirvana – my New Year’s resolution.
Leave a Reply

